buddha 2

The mind wanders out of control. It is comparable to muddy water. Let it rest for long enough and everything floating in it slowly begins to settle down. The water becomes clean, clear and still.

We have random thoughts, feelings, ideas, problems and their solutions flashing across our minds at lightning speed. All this leaves us in a confused and stressed out mess. Our mind takes us either back into the past or future.

According to Judson Brewer, a research scientist, when we are not doing anything, in particular, the default mode of our mind take over and it starts to wander away from where we are. By practicing mindfulness we can be more and more in the present and see things as they are.

By practicing mindfulness we can be more and more in the present and see things as they are.

Be mindful

Stay focused

Be in the present but without judging.

Try not to think about whether you like something you see or you don’t or how it could be improved.

Just be observant

Just be there…

 

 

 

9 thoughts on “The Presence of Mind

  1. I started meditating about six months ago and I am stunned at how well it works for me. As you say, it clears the mind. When I get stuck with my writing, meditation clears things up for me. I’m still a novice. I meditate ten minutes at a time and try to do that twice a day. I keep my eyes open, because when I close them I start seeing all kind of things. Ha!

    Great post. I’m really glad to have met you!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

